Rosemead is tough on DUIs. Penalties for drunk driving have increased across California, and Rosemead area courts are not known for being lenient. Sentences can include jail time, DUI treatment, losing your driver’s license, and truly staggering fees.
If you were arrested for drunk driving, you need to defend yourself. The best way to do that is by talking to a Rosemead DUI lawyer. Rosemead criminal defense attorneys routinely turn around even the toughest cases for their clients.
Our Los Angeles DUI lawyers have the knowledge and experience to navigate the legal system, and they can frequently bring back a promising offer. They might even be able to win your case outright.
The Rising Price Tag of a Rosemead DUI
Politicians have found that they can get easy votes by being tough on crime, and the fines for DUI have soared. Presently, the total price for a first-time DUI in southern California can be over $15,000. This money is seen as revenue by the courts and local government.
It is no wonder that Rosemead throws the book at DUI offenders. Money is not the only cost of a DUI. It can affect your life and your career. California law divides DUI penalties by first offense, second offense, and third offense (or more).
First offenders get the lightest penalties but by no means walk away undamaged. Here is an overview of the penalties for a first offense:
- When you are convicted of a DUI in California, your license will be suspended. The length of the suspension varies but is typically at least several months.
- You could go to jail for even a first DUI for anywhere from just two days to an entire six months.
- You will be ordered into a three-month DUI education course that costs you hundreds of dollars, and you may also be ordered into alcohol treatment.
- DUI comes with a criminal fine of at least $390, plus mandatory “court assessments.” Altogether they add up to at least $1,800 for a first offense, but it can be far more.
Repeat offenders face far stricter consequences. These include up to a year in jail and potentially tens of thousands of dollars in fines and fees. The suspension of your license and DUI school can last years and cost thousands more.
All DUI sentences also include years of probation. Some require the installation of an interlock device on every vehicle you own.
What to Expect in Your Rosemead DUI Case
Rosemead has its own Chief of Police but is enforced primarily by the LA County Sheriff’s Office. The highways are also patrolled by the California State Police out of their East Los Angeles office. No matter who arrested you, you will usually spend a night in jail (typically at the Sheriff’s nearby Temple Station facility).
Upon being arrested, you should already be thinking about the legal path in front of you. The legal process for a DUI charge has several important deadlines. These deadlines approach fast, and you have to take action for each one of them.
Making a mistake at any point could harm your case and affect your future. The three main deadlines are:
10 Days—DMV Hearing
You are in danger of losing your driver’s license before you’ve even gone to trial. This is called administrative suspension. The DMV suspends your driver’s license automatically unless you request a hearing.
You have only 10 days to request this hearing after your arrest. There is no second chance. Your DUI lawyer in Rosemead, CA, can request a hearing for you and represent you before the DMV.
They will fight so you can keep your license.
About 14 Days—Arraignment
Your arraignment is your first appearance in court. It is a short hearing where you enter your plea. It’s also the first chance you get to see the prosecutor in court.
They are looking to see if you will be easy to convict. They do not want to see a DUI lawyer at your side. If you have hired a lawyer, they know it will be a tough case, and they may offer you a better deal right away.
Rosemead’s DUI cases are usually heard at the El Monte Courthouse. However, you may not have to go to trial at all. Your lawyer will work to get the case resolved in your favor before the trial date.
The sooner you get a lawyer, the more they can do to help you.
It Is Worth It to Hire a DUI Attorney
Hiring a DUI lawyer may be the single most important decision you make in your case. The best attorneys are those who focus exclusively on DUI cases. They will have the experience to know which defense to use in your case.
There are literally dozens of different ways to approach a DUI charge, and some approaches work best in some kinds of cases or with certain prosecutors and judges. The most experienced DUI lawyers can turn entire cases around. Some of the ways a lawyer will help you include:
- Challenging the chemical test. Most DUI cases involve a breath test, blood test, or urine test. Your lawyer can challenge this evidence and potentially get it tossed out.
- Find holes in the officers’ testimony. Police make mistakes. Your lawyer knows how to comb their statements for inconsistencies and call their word into question.
- Objecting to violations of your rights. If police did not follow protocol while arresting you, the evidence they gathered may not be admissible.
There simply is no substitute for having a good DUI lawyer.
How to Defend Yourself When Charged with a DUI in Rosemead
When you are charged with driving under the influence, having a DUI attorney in Rosemead, CA, by your side could make all the difference. You will need to work with your criminal defense lawyer to determine which defenses are most likely to result in your acquittal or other verdict in your favor.
Depending on the circumstances of your case, one or more of the following DUI defenses may be appropriate:
- Lack of probable cause
- Mistakes with laboratory testing
- Inaccurate field sobriety test results
- Improper chemical blood alcohol testing
- Improper administration of a breathalyzer
- Medical conditions skewing BAC test results
- Unlawful search and seizure
- Constitutional rights violations
These are just a few potential defenses that could be used to challenge the DUI allegations against you. After going over your arrest and the details surrounding your charges, your attorney will determine which options are most suitable.
Pretrial Diversion Eligibility
Instead of presenting your case before a judge and jury, you may be able to avoid going to trial by working with the district attorney to enter a pretrial diversion program. This is an excellent option for anyone who is a first-time DUI offender. However, you may only be eligible if there was no severe bodily injury or death in your case.
You must be prepared to meet the terms of the pretrial diversion program otherwise, the state can revoke your plea agreement and move forward with the DUI charges against you.
Talk to a Rosemead DUI Attorney for a Free Consultation
Every DUI defendant deserves a good defense. We will help you get one. We have screened the most qualified DUI lawyers in the Rosemead area, and we can match you with one whose background fits your case—at no cost. Every Rosemead DUI lawyer we work with offers a 100% free consultation for your case.
Do not let a DUI charge ruin your future. Fill out our online contact form or call us to get your free consultation today.