Get a DUI Attorney Near Me
If you’ve been arrested for DUI in La Verne you need to defend yourself. DUI is no longer just a minor traffic violation—and the penalties are steep. Even a first time DUI conviction could lead to jail time, a suspended driver’s license, thousands of dollars in fines, and years of legal consequences. You need to fight for your freedom.
A La Verne DUI lawyer can help. Your lawyer won’t just act as your legal counsel, they will be your guide in a complicated legal system where nearly everyone is against you. They know how to take on even the toughest DUI cases, and frequently turn these cases around. Your lawyer might be able to help you avoid jail time, reduce the severity of the charge you face, or even win your case for you. They could also save you a substantial amount of money.
DUI Consequences in La Verne
DUI is treated as a serious criminal offense. It’s also one of the most expensive laws on the books. A single first time DUI conviction in the La Verne area can now cost you up to $15,649. This high price tag isn’t by coincidence—authorities know that cracking down on DUI is popular politically, and they see the fines and fees as a source of revenue for local government. La Verne holds frequent DUI checkpoints, often at surprise locations. They do not go easy on the drivers they catch.
Under California law, DUI penalties depend on whether or not you have prior convictions. But even a first time offender doesn’t get off easy. The penalties include:
- Fines and fees. The official fine for DUI can be as little as $390, but the courts add a variety of fees on top of it. The result is that the least you’ll end up paying is about $1,800. It can be many thousands more.
- Jail time. All DUI charges now carry the possibility of jail time. For a first time conviction it can be anywhere from two days to six months.
- DUI school. You will be ordered to take a special education program known as DUI traffic school. The program lasts three months and costs you hundreds of dollars.
- License suspension. One of the most dreaded consequences of DUI is having your license suspended. This is mandatory for all DUI convictions. The suspension will last at least several months and often up to a year.
- Probation. You will be put on probation for three to five years following your conviction.
If you’ve had prior DUIs, or if your DUI involves an accident or injury, the penalties will be even worse. You could be put in jail for a year, or sent to state prison for up to 16 months. You will face license suspension of two or three years, or even permanent license revocation. In some cases you could even be tried as a felon.
What Happens After a DUI Arrest in La Verne?
In La Verne you may have been arrested by the La Verne Police, the LA County Sheriff, or the California Highway Patrol out of Baldwin Park. You may then be processed at San Dimas Police Jail Facility or San Dimas Sheriff’s Station. In most cases you will be released the next day. This feel like freedom, but it’s only the beginning. You are now at the beginning of a lengthy legal road. You face multiple deadlines, and failure to meet any of these deadlines could affect your life for years to come.
The critical deadlines in a DUI case are:
- Your Arraignment. Your arraignment will be scheduled shortly after your arrest, often within a few days or a few weeks at most. This is a short court hearing before a judge. It’s not a trial. Officially, all you need to do at this hearing is enter a plea of Guilty, Not Guilty or No Contest. But unofficially, this is also the prosecutor’s chance to size you up. Prosecutors are busy and they don’t want to work on losing cases. If you already have a well respected DUI lawyer with you, they know you’re going to fight and they may reconsider whether you’re worth it. This is often when a new, better deal is offered.
- The DMV Hearing. Your driver’s license is in jeopardy as soon as you’re arrested, before you’ve even had a trial. From the date of your arrest you have only 10 days to request a hearing with the DMV. If you don’t do this you’ll never get a hearing and they will automatically suspend your license.
- Your Trial. The trial will be scheduled within 45 days or less of your arrest. This is a very short amount of time to assemble a defense. Your lawyer will use this time to challenge the evidence against you and try to force the prosecutor into a corner. If you go to trial it will be held at the Pomona Courthouse—but you may not have to. Your lawyer’s goal is to win your case without ever even going to court.
How Does a Lawyer Win a DUI Case?
A DUI lawyer may be your most valuable asset in your case. An experienced DUI attorney will work methodically through each piece of evidence against you. This may include a breath test, blood test, officer testimony, or statements you made during questioning. They understand the legal grounds for objecting to each type of evidence, and will work to get as much of it as possible excluded from the case. You’d be surprised at how often a seemingly full proof breathalyzer test is thrown out of court.
Once they’ve nailed down the evidence they’ll move to win your case in one of three ways:
- Getting it dropped. If your lawyer makes the case hard enough, the prosecutor may just drop it.
- Getting it dismissed. If enough key evidence gets thrown out, your lawyer can ask the judge to dismiss the case.
- Bargaining it down. In many cases your lawyer may be able to get the prosecutor to reduce the charge to something less serious, like reckless driving.
Talk to a La Verne DUI Lawyer for Free
You deserve a good defense. We can help you get one. We will put you in touch with a top La Verne area DUI lawyer free of charge. Your lawyer will give you a FREE consultation and help you make the best choice in how to pursue your case.
Don’t let the prosecutor decide your future. Fill out the form to the right or call (310) 896-2724 and get your FREE consultation today.