Get a DUI Attorney Near Me
A DUI charge in Lomita is a serious matter. DUI is not just a traffic ticket anymore—it’s a serious criminal charge that can bring life altering consequences. All DUIs now carry the possibility of jail time, even if you have no previous criminal history. If convicted you will also have your driver’s license suspended, be forced into special traffic safety classes, carry a black mark that may affect your employment, and face thousands of dollars in fines.
That’s why you need to defend yourself. The best way to do that is to get the advice of an experienced Lomita DUI lawyer. California’s legal system is complex, and a lawyer can help you make the right decisions to turn your case around. In many cases, a good DUI lawyer can get the case against you dropped, push the prosecutor to offer you a deal, reduce the charge to something less serious, or even win your case outright.
Consequences of a DUI in Lomita
DUI has become one of the most expensive crimes in southern California. A single first time conviction can now cost you well over $15,000—or more for repeat offenders. This can be devastating to an otherwise law abiding driver, but to the City of Lomita it’s seen as a source of money. The city enforces DUI strictly, and DUI roadblocks are held across the area to drive up arrests. Those who are caught face fierce prosecution.
If convicted, the penalties for a first time DUI include:
- Jail time. A first time DUI comes with at least two days in jail. The judge can choose a much longer sentence—up to six months.
- DUI school. All DUI offenders are ordered into a special traffic safety course known as DUI school. For a first time conviction it lasts three full months and may cost you upwards of $600.
- License suspension. If convicted of DUI there is no way to keep your license. You will lose it for at least four months, and possibly much longer.
- Fines and fees. DUI fees are complicated. On top of the criminal fee of $390 to $1,000 there are “assessments” or fees that benefit the court and local government. Even if you get the minimum fine, you’ll end up owing at least $1,800.
Under California state law, repeat offenders face even tougher penalties. These can include:
- A jail sentence of up to a year, or up to 16 months in state prison
- Up to 30 months of DUI school
- License suspension lasting two years, three years, or permanently
- Fines and fees that can easily go over $10,000
You may also be ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your car, go to drug or alcohol treatment, perform community service or fulfill other probation requirements.
Three Crucial Deadlines in a Lomita DUI Case
DUI cases can begin many ways. You may have been arrested by the LA County Sheriff or State Troopers from the South Los Angeles division, and were most likely held overnight or longer at the sheriff’s Lomita Station. Regardless of how your case started, once you’ve been arrested you will face three critical legal deadlines—and you need to be ready to take action on each one.
These deadlines are:
- The arraignment. An arraignment is a short hearing in front of a judge, long before your trial. It usually happens within two weeks of your arrest, often much sooner. The point of the arraignment is to hear the charges against you and officially enter your plea. However, this is also your first chance to face the prosecution in open court. The prosecutor is hoping that you do not have adequate legal counsel and that you will be easy to force into a conviction. If you show up with a good DUI lawyer, they will know you’re not easy prey, and re-evaluate their strategy. They may even offer you a better deal on the spot.
- The DMV hearing. From the date of your arrest you have only 10 days to fight for your license. If you don’t request a DMV hearing within the 10 days, your license will be put on administrative suspension and you can no longer drive. Your DUI lawyer can handle the hearing for you and help you protect your license.
- Your trial date. Your trial will be scheduled at the Torrance Courthouse within 45 days of your arrest. This is not much time to prepare a defense. You need to speak to a lawyer as early in the process as possible. Your lawyer will work to resolve your case without going to trial—potentially securing you a win long before the trial date.
How to Beat a Lomita DUI
As serious as a DUI charge is, it is possible to beat one. Every year countless DUI cases end with the driver being cleared of all charges. But beating a DUI requires knowledge, experience and skill, and having a good DUI lawyer on your side makes a huge difference.
When a DUI lawyer looks at your case, what they see is a series of pieces of evidence laid out against you. They look at this evidence one by one, seeking out weaknesses that could get it disqualified. Often, they will see weaknesses in the evidence that an untrained person wouldn’t see.
- Chemical tests like a breathalyzer or blood test seem scientific, but they can be thrown out if the state’s testing procedures weren’t followed.
- Officer testimony is respected in court, but officers routinely make mistakes, confuse the facts, or have other inconsistencies that your lawyer can leverage.
- Statements you made during initial questioning may seem incriminating, but aren’t admissible if you weren’t properly advised of your rights.
- The arrest itself may not even be valid if procedures were not followed.
As your lawyer rips apart the evidence against you, the prosecutor’s case crumbles. You may be able to get the charges dropped, reduce them to a lesser charge, or win your case outright.
Speak to a Lomita DUI Lawyer for Free
Every driver deserves a good defense. Let us help you get one. We are not a law firm—we work with leading DUI attorneys in the Lomita area and we can help match you to a lawyer who’s right for your case. Every lawyer we work with focuses exclusively on DUI law and will offer you a FREE case consultation. This consultation is your chance to get a professional legal opinion with no obligation.
Don’t wait until you’re facing the jury. Get the help you need. Fill out the form to the right or call (310) 896-2724 and get your FREE consultation today.