All fifty states have enacted laws regarding the possession, purchase, and consumption of alcohol by minors. California is no exception and has established a legal drinking age of 21 years of age. In order to remain in line with this law, California also takes underage driving under the influence very seriously. They have established a zero tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. Anyone under the age of 21 can be charged with California’s zero tolerance law with a BAC of 0.01%. This can lead to the loss of driver’s license for a year or more. If the driver has a BAC of 0.05% or higher, they face the same DUI charges that an adult would face.
The Sonoma County Patch reports that four people have been injured in a suspected DUI accident.
The incident occurred at about 11:20 p.m. on Friday on Wikiup Drive north of Carriage Lane just north of Santa Rosa.
According to the California Highway Patrol, 18-year-old Aileen Virgil-Hernandez of Santa Rosa was driving a Nissan Versa. She was traveling westbound on Wikiup and failed to negotiate a curve.
She drove off of the roadway into a tree. Virgil-Hernandez and a 17-year-old passenger were both taken to a hospital with major injuries that were not life-threatening. Two passengers, a 20-year-old and a 17-year-old who were in the back seat sustained minor injuries in the crash.
The California Highway Patrol reported that all four individuals in the car were intoxicated. Virgil-Hernandez was arrested on suspicion of DUI.