Since 2011, California has adopted a policy of suspending the driver’s license of anyone charged with driving under the influence. Once charged, the driver’s license will be suspended within 30 days. In addition to the license suspension, the driver may face criminal penalties. Even a first time DUI can have penalties such as spending up to six months in jail. Fines and fees can add up to $3,600. The driver will be required to pay for and attend DUI school and may also have to pay for the installation of an ignition interlock device. Finally, there is the possibility that the driver will spend 3 to 5 years on probation.
KEYT reports that a wrong-way driver has been arrested on suspicion of DUI after a crash on US-101.
The crash occurred at around 1:38 A.M. on Sunday on the 101 Freeway in Atascadero.
According to the California Highway Patrol, 36-year-old Monica Duggan was driving a Volkswagen north in the southbound lanes of the freeway.
Her speed as she was approaching southbound traffic was approximately 65-70 miles per hour.
Arnold Johnson was driving southbound at about 65 m.p.h. and tried to swerve to avoid Duggan’s vehicle. He was unsuccessful, and the left front of Duggan’s vehicle collided with Johnson’s car.
Everyone was wearing their seat belt, and Duggan suffered only minor injuries that involved a bloody nose. All three passengers were transported to the hospital for evaluation.
Duggan was arrested on charges of suspicion of DUI.
The California Highway Patrol is still investigating the crash.