You could face serious penalties for a third charge for driving under the influence (DUI) in California. Will you go to jail for your third DUI? In many cases, you do face jail time if convicted of a third DUI. Find out more about the results of a third DUI conviction in this article.
Minimum Jail Time for a Third DUI in California
A first DUI may only result in a few days of jail time in California. However, all DUIs are priorable offenses. This means that you face harsher penalties for each conviction. DUIs stay on your driving record for 10 years.
Drivers with three DUIs within 10 years may end up dealing with serious repercussions. A third DUI generally leads to at least 120 days in jail. However, you should be aware that this is not a hard and fast rule. Some counties require drivers to spend more time in jail.
Additionally, you may face a longer period of jail time in specific cases. Drivers who cause a DUI accident often end up spending more time in jail. You could even face prison time if someone was badly hurt in a DUI accident.
Maximum Jail Time for a Third DUI in California
The court generally sets a maximum on the amount of jail time you may get for a DUI. A third “basic” DUI could result in up to one year of time in jail. However, this could vary based on your circumstances. You should always speak with a DUI lawyer about the potential jail time for your offense.
You can get help understanding your specific charges by calling (310) 896-2724. A lawyer can review the accusations against you. Your lawyer may also go over the penalties for a DUI in your county if you are outside of Los Angeles.
Other Penalties for a Third DUI in Los Angeles
Jail time is only one of the penalties used to prosecute a DUI in Los Angeles. You may face other penalties for a DUI conviction as well. These include:
- Fines of thousands of dollars
- Usage of an ignition interlock device (IID) for two years
- Up to 30 months in DUI school
Please be aware that these are only the penalties for a basic DUI. Drivers accused of causing an accident face additional repercussions. You may even face felony charges for a DUI in some cases. Felony charges are generally only used if someone was badly hurt or killed in a DUI accident.
Understand the Usage of IIDs in Los Angeles
California adopted a statewide IID program in 2019. Currently, most drivers convicted of a DUI are required to install an IID on their vehicle. You may refuse an IID. However, the court may then suspend your license for three years. You would be unable to drive during this three-year period.
Drivers with an IID may continue to drive as normal. However, you will need to perform a blood alcohol content (BAC) test each time you start your car. You use the IID to complete this test. The test works like a breathalyzer. It analyzes your breath for traces of alcohol.
Drivers who try to drive without an IID face additional penalties. The court may consider this action a violation of your probation. Violating your probation for a third DUI could result in:
- The extension of your probation period
- Additional regulations added to your probation
- The revocation of your probation and a return to jail
Therefore, you could face additional time in jail if you violate your probation after a third DUI.
Handle a Third DUI with a Lawyer in California
You can get help handling a third DUI charge in Los Angeles. A lawyer could work to get your charges dismissed. This could help you avoid jail time. Your lawyer may also work to help you get a plea bargain. A plea bargain may help you stay out of jail after a DUI arrest.
Finally, your lawyer can stand up for you in court. Getting your charges handled in court could prevent jail time. Learn more about your options with a lawyer today.
Find Out if You Face Jail Time for a Third DUI with a Lawyer
Will you go to jail for a third DUI in California? You may go to jail if you are convicted of a third DUI in many cases. Get help building a defense right now by contacting a DUI lawyer. You can get a free consultation to discuss the specifics of your case.
Reach out to us by completing our online contact form. You can also call us at (310) 896-2724.