Were you accused of driving under the influence (DUI) while you were under 21 in California? If so, you could face a number of serious penalties. Additionally, the DUI charge will stay on your driver’s record and your criminal record for years to come.
How long does a DUI stay on your record in California if you are under 21? A DUI charge can stay on your driver’s record for ten years. It can stay on your criminal record indefinitely in Los Angeles. Find out more about DUIs and your record right here.
DUIs and Your Criminal Record in California
DUI convictions go on both your criminal record and your driver’s record in California. DUIs for individuals over the age of 18 can stay on their criminal record indefinitely. These charges would show up if someone ran a background check on you. The following individuals could run a background check:
- Potential employers
- Institutes of higher education
The court system sometimes “locks” criminal records if you got a DUI while you were under the age of 18. However, if you were over 18 the DUI will show up on your criminal record.
Removing DUI Charges from Your Criminal Record
As we mentioned, a DUI charge will stay on your criminal record indefinitely in California. However, there are processes to remove a DUI conviction from your record in some cases. You could get your record sealed if you were a minor at the time of your arrest, for example.
You can also talk to a Los Angeles DUI lawyer about getting your charges expunged. Expungement is available for many misdemeanor charges in California. Expungement can remove a charge from your record if you completed all rules of your probation.
This means that a DUI charge would not show up on many background checks. Reach out to us if you are interested in an expungement for DUI charges. Just call (310) 862-0199.
DUIs and Your Driver’s Record in California
A DUI conviction can also show up on your driver’s record in California. Your driver’s record is kept by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). DUI charges stay on your driver’s record for 10 years from the date of our arrest.
While a DUI charge is on your driving record it is considered priorable. Priorable offenses count against you if you are accused of another DUI in California. You face harsher penalties if you have past DUI convictions on your record.
Note that there is no way to remove a DUI charge from your driving record. You have to wait for the 10-year period to expire in order for the charge to come off of your driving record.
Other Effects of an Under 21 DUI in California
As you can see, an under 21 DUI conviction in California can stay on your record for a long time. However, this is not the only penalty for a DUI conviction. California has a zero-tolerance policy for DUIs while under 21. This means you can face criminal charges even if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is very low. Drivers under 21 must keep their BAC under 0.01%. Drivers with an elevated BAC can face:
- The suspension of their driver’s license
- Time in an alcohol education program
Drivers with a significantly elevated BAC can face harsher criminal charges. The legal limit for drivers over 21 is 0.07%. Drivers who exceed this BAC level can face “adult” DUI charges. These charges can lead to jail time and higher fines.
Handle Under 21 DUI Charges with a Lawyer
A DUI lawyer in Los Angeles can help if you are accused of a DUI in California. If you handle a DUI charge and avoid a conviction, it will not show up on your record. We can work to block evidence against you and to build a defense for your case.
Allow us to work to get your charges dismissed. We can also take steps to stand up for you in court. Begin working on your charges by contacting us right now.
Consider How Long an Under 21 DUI Stays on Your Record in California
A DUI can stay on your criminal record indefinitely in California if you are under 21. It can also stay on your driving record for 10 years. We’re here to help you handle DUI charges before you are convicted. Contact a DUI lawyer in Los Angeles now to get help. We’ll review your situation with a free consultation.
Take charge by calling (310) 862-0199. You can also fill out our online contact form.