In California, a third DUI within 10 years carries tougher penalties than previous DUIs.
Under California law, repeat DUI offenders face heavier consequences for each new DUI conviction. By a third conviction, even the minimum sentences are capable of affecting your life long term.
What counts as a third offense?
A third offense DUI means you have two prior DUI convictions in the past 10 years. If you’re not sure, count from the date of your arrest. The arrest date for both of your previous DUIs must be within 10 years prior to your most recent arrest date. If they are farther back, they don’t count.
What are the penalties?
The penalties for a third offense DUI in California are:
- Fines and fees ranging up to $18,000—ten times that charged for a first time DUI.
- Jail or prison. You face 6 months to 1 year in jail, or up to 16 months in state prison.
- License suspension for 3 years.
- 30 months of DUI traffic school.
- Mandatory installation of an interlock device on all your vehicles.
Additionally, on a third DUI it is much more likely that the judge will order alcohol or drug treatment as part of your probation.
Have you been charged with DUI? A good DUI lawyer can help fight your test results and potentially win your case. Let us connect you with an experienced Los Angeles DUI lawyer and get you a FREE consultation. Fill out the form to the right or call (310) 862-0199 and get your free consultation today.