Having your license suspended means you cannot legally drive. In California, all DUI sentences include license suspension.
License suspension is one of the most dreaded penalties of a DUI charge. The law is simple: if you are convicted of driving in California, you lose your license. License suspension can last for months or years depending on the nature of your DUI charge. In some rare cases, you can lose your license permanently.
There are two separate processes for suspending your license for a California DUI. The first comes from the DMV. They will suspend your license right away, as a precautionary measure before you’ve had your trial. You can potentially avoid this by requesting a DMV hearing.
Then, if convicted, you will face suspension as a criminal penalty. Generally, the length of your suspension will be:
- 6 months or more on a first time DUI
- 2 years for a second DUI in a 10-year period
- 3 years for a third DUI in a 10-year period
- 4 years for a fourth time offender, with the possibility of permanent revocation
Even if your license is suspended, in some cases you will be able to request special driving privileges known as a restricted license. This can allow you to drive to and from work.
Have you been charged with DUI? We can connect you with an experienced Los Angeles DUI lawyer and get you a FREE consultation. Fill out the form to the right or call (310) 862-0199 and get your free consultation today.