In California, a fourth or subsequent DUI offense is treated as a felony.
California law imposes tougher sentences for repeat DUI offenders. If you have three or more previous DUI’s, you will be prosecuted as a fourth time offender. The penalties for a fourth offense are significant:
- Fines and fees ranging up to $18,000.
- You face a 16 month sentence in state prison. It can be years longer if anyone was hurt.
- License suspension for 4 years, or the possibility of permanent license revocation.
- 30 months of DUI traffic school before you can drive again.
- Mandatory installation of an interlock device on all your vehicles.
- Felony status.
Normally, previous DUIs only count as “prior offenses” if they occurred within the last 10 years. For most of the penalties above, that is true for fourth offense DUI as well. But it is possible to face permanent license revocation for a fourth DUI no matter when your previous offenses happened. Offenses that are decades old can be held against you.
Of the penalties above, felony status is among the most serious. In addition to a prison sentence, it means you temporarily lose your right to vote and permanently lose your right to bear arms. Felony status follows you for life. Learn more about DUI felony status here: When Is a DUI a Felony in California?
Last, you may also be declared a “habitual traffic offender,” which carries additional penalties both now and if you are caught driving on a suspended license.
Have you been charged with DUI? A good DUI lawyer can help fight your test results and potentially win your case. Let us connect you with an experienced Los Angeles DUI lawyer and get you a FREE consultation. Fill out the form to the right or call (310) 896-2724 and get your free consultation today.