14601.2 A person shall not drive a motor vehicle at any time when that person’s driving privilege is suspended or revoked for a conviction of a violation of Section 23152 or 23153 if the person so driving has knowledge of the suspension or revocation.
In California, all forms of driving on a suspended license are illegal and involve criminal penalties. But the state views driving on a suspended license as more serious if the license was originally suspended for DUI. This includes both DUI’s related to alcohol and those related to drugs.
California has similar provisions for those who drive on a license suspended for reckless driving, and refusing a blood or breath test.
The penalties for VC 14601.2 are steep. They include:
- Jail time lasting from 10 days to six months
- $300 to $1,000 in fines, plus administrative fees
- Probation for three to five years
- You may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your car
The penalties are even tougher if it was your second or third DUI.
Additional penalties: driving on a suspended license also counts as a violation of your probation for your original DUI. You may face additional penalties for that charge, such as serving jail time that was originally waived.
There are defenses against a driving on a suspended license charge, however. One of the most important is whether you knew your license was suspended. You must be given notice by either the DMV or the court (whichever carries out the suspension). If they failed to give you notice, such s mailing it to the wrong address, you may be able to win your case.
Even if they did give you notice, a good DUI lawyer may be able to get the charge dropped or reduce the penalties you face.
Have you been charged with driving on a suspended license due to DUI? We can connect you with an experienced Los Angeles DUI lawyer and get you a FREE consultation. Fill out the form to the right or call (310) 896-2724 and get your free consultation today.