If you are underage and are caught driving while under the influence, you could be facing serious charges. In fact, you don’t even need to have a blood alcohol content of over .08 per cent if caught driving drunk as a teen in California. All it takes is .01 percent under California’s zero tolerance laws concerning teen drinking and driving. If convicted, a teen can face up to a $250 fine and a minimum one-year suspension of their license. KSBY reports on a teen that is facing DUI charges after an accident that claimed the lives of two passengers.
Emergency crews responded to the scene of a crash just before 11 p.m. last Tuesday night. The incident occurred along Cuesta Grade just south of Tower Road.
The driver of the vehicle, who was identified as 19-year-old Robert James Jones II, was speeding along the highway when he turned the vehicle to the right, where it went up a steep embankment. Jones then reentered the roadway and crashed into a divider.
Two passengers, 21-year-old Cody James Wiebers and 20-year-old Jubalee Stoney Jones, both of Fresno, were ejected from the vehicle. They died at the scene of the accident.
Another passenger, 20-year-old Cynthia Rendon, also of Fresno, was taken by ambulance to a local hospital with minor injuries.
CHP alleges that the accident was caused by Jones’ intoxication. He suffered major injuries, and is currently hospitalized at Fresno Community Hospital.
Another vehicle was involved in the crash when it struck one of the ejected passengers.
Have you been charged with DUI? You will need an experienced defense attorney in court. All of our attorneys are skilled in the defense of DUI charges. Call us today.