Under California law, the charge of gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated requires that a few conditions be met. The first condition is that the driver was intoxicated at the time of the crash. They also must have committed another negligent act, such as violating another of California’s traffic laws. The final condition that must be met is that as a result of the first two actions, someone lost their life. If convicted, the charge of gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated carries a penalty of 4, 6, or 10 years in state prison. The convicted person would also then carry felony status, which can affect both their rights and their job opportunities in the future.
The Sacramento Bee reports that a woman who pleaded guilty to gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated has been sentenced to four years in prison.
22-year-old Alexis Little was identified as the driver in a fatal Folsom solo-vehicle crash that took place on April 9th. The crash resulted in the death of 28-year-old Joshua Lowery.
At the time of the crash, Little had been driving a Subaru Forester on East Bidwell Street at about 2 a.m. The SUV struck a light pole at about 2 a.m. and overturned. Little was arrested for DUI and witnesses advised police that Little had been speeding at the time of the crash.
Little and three other passengers in the back seat had injuries that required hospitalizations. A passenger in the back seat made a 911 call, stating that they believed that a passenger was dead.
Lowery was pronounced dead at the scene.
During the sentencing, the judge denied Little probation and instead sentenced her to four years in prison.