While many states have statutes that can make a bartender or other social hosts civilly liable for a drunk driving accident, California law generally lays civil liability solely at the feet of the driver. The only exception to this is if a bartender or social host knowingly serves alcohol to a minor and that minor gets into an accident. AS many already know, California is one of the many states that has a zero tolerance law regarding underage DUI. Anyone under the age of 21 caught driving with a blood-alcohol content of .01% can be charged with DUI. ABC 7 reports on four people who are now facing charges after a fatal DUI crash in Texas.
20-year-old Veronica Rivas was allegedly driving drunk on February 29th when she crashed her car into another vehicle carrying 36-year-old Shayla Joseph and Braylan Jabari Joseph. Both were killed in the accident.
Now, four people, including the son of the bar’s owner and the bartender, are facing charges in connection with the accident.
The three adults allegedly supplied margaritas to Rivas. They included 24-year-old Devin Jackson, whose father owned the bar. Another charged with supplying alcohol to a minor is bartender Amy L. Allen, 40, who did not check identification.
23-year-old John C. Medina is also charged with providing alcohol to a minor.
The charge of providing alcohol to a minor is a misdemeanor in Texas but is punishable by a $4,000 fine and up to a year in prison. He is also charged with perjury before a grand jury, which is a felony and may carry a sentence of up to 10 years in prison.
The case has not yet been closed and more charges are possible.