All 50 states have laws making it illegal for a person under the age of 21 to purchase, possess, or be under the influence of alcohol. California is no exception to this law. They have very strict “zero-tolerance” laws when it comes to drivers who are under 21 and intoxicated. This means that an underage driver can be arrested with a very small amount of alcohol in their system, most often under the 0.08% limit that is established for adults. The penalties for being caught as an underage DUI driver are much the same as those an adult would face. In addition, California law also provides a way to find out who sold or provided the alcohol, and that person can face misdemeanor charges as well.
KSBW reports that the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control is investigating who provided the alcohol to a teen involved in a deadly accident.
18-year-old Jacques Clark has had his bail raised and has had several conditions placed upon his release.
On Friday night, Clark was driving northbound on Davis Road near Acacia when he rear-ended a car being driven by 38-year-old Rosie Figueroa. Figueroa then lost control of the car, which spun, hit and tree, and eventually flipped over into a back yard.
Figueroa was pronounced dead at the scene and her mother, a passenger, suffered from major injuries and was rushed to the hospital.
Clark’s bail was raised from $200,000 to $380,000. In addition, he is not to possess any alcohol or controlled or restricted drugs without a prescription.
Clark was also reminded that should he drink and drive while he is out on bail and he kills someone, he may be charged with murder.
The California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control is currently attempting to track where the teen got the alcohol through their TRACE program. The ABC can take action against businesses and private parties who make alcohol available to those who are underage.