In California, the legal age to drink, purchase, and possess alcohol is 21. For most drivers of this age or older, the legal limit for blood-alcohol level is .08%. However, for those drivers under the age of 21, a different set of rules apply.
California has a “zero-tolerance” policy when it comes to underage driving while intoxicated. At a BAC of just 0.01%, an underage driver can lose their driver’s license if convicted of a DUI. At 0.05%, the driver can be charged with a DUI and would face the same penalties as an adult if convicted. If the driver is involved in an accident, they may face additional charges, such as DUI causing injury.
The Legal Herald reports that two people were injured and an 18-year-old driver has been charged with DUI following a crash.
The incident occurred on Highway 135 in Orcutt at around 10 a.m. on Monday, May 18th.
Police allege that 18-year-old Jesse Star was driving a Hyundai sedan south on Highway 135. The driver crashed into a blue Chevrolet pickup truck and a Mercedes-Benz sedan.
Police believe that at the time of the accident, Star was exceeding the speed limit.
The impact with the Hyundai sent the Mercedes tumbling over a divider, where it came to rest in the northbound lane. The Hyundai lost two wheels and overturned, coming to a rest on the shoulder.
Two people, including Star, were injured in the crash. He was arrested on suspicion of DUI and possible drugs. He was flown to a hospital with head injuries.
The driver of the Mercedes was taken to a local hospital by ambulance.