California uses many different charges to prosecute driving under the influence (DUI). These charges may vary depending upon the facts of your case. Additionally, all DUIs in California are priorable. This means the penalties for a DUI get more serious with each conviction.
So, what is the charge for a fourth DUI in California? The charge you face may depend on the facts of your case. However, Vehicle Code (VC) 23152 is often used to prosecute DUI charges. Let’s consider VC 23152 and other charges for DUIs right here.
VC 23152 Charges for a Fourth DUI
VC 23152 represents California’s basic DUI law. There are many different subsections of VC 23152. Depending upon your situation, you could be charged under:
- VC 23152(a) for driving under the influence of alcohol
- VC 23152(b) for driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above 0.08%
- VC 23152(c) for driving while addicted to any drug
- VC 23152(d) for driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC at or above 0.04%
- VC 21352(e) for driving a vehicle for hire with a BAC at or above 0.04%
- VC 23152(f) for driving a vehicle while under the influence of drugs
- VC 23152(g) for driving a vehicle while under the influence of drugs and alcohol
Every single VC 23152 charge is priorable. This means they stay on your driving record for 10 years. You face harsher penalties with each conviction. The court may use VC 23152 charges to prosecute a fourth DUI. However, this is not the only option used for DUI prosecution.
Additional Charges for a Fourth DUI
Some drivers face different charges for a DUI in California. Generally, your charges change if you did not have a “basic” DUI. For example, let’s say you caused an accident and hurt someone. In this case, you could face charges under California Vehicle Code Section 23153.
You could also face separate charges if someone died in a DUI accident. In some cases, you could end up dealing with charges for vehicular manslaughter. These charges may apply regardless of how many prior DUI convictions you have on your record.
The Penalties for a Fourth DUI in California
As we mentioned, each DUI in California is priorable. You end up with higher penalties for each DUI conviction. This holds true even for basic DUIs that do not result in an injury or death. A fourth DUI conviction within 10 years may result in:
- Fines of up to $1,000
- Prison time of up to one year
- Use of an ignition interlock device (IID) for three years
- Status as a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) for three years
Note that these are the felony penalties for a fourth DUI in California. A fourth DUI is actually a “wobbler.” This means that you could face misdemeanor or felony charges. However, a fourth DUI is almost always prosecuted as a felony in California.
There are steps you could take to reduce a felony DUI to a misdemeanor. Discuss these options with a DUI lawyer in California. You can reach a legal team by calling (310) 896-2724.
Handle a Fourth DUI Accusation in Los Angeles
You are not alone if you are facing charges for a fourth DUI in California. A DUI lawyer could help you handle either misdemeanor or felony charges. A lawyer may take immediate steps to build your defense. A lawyer could take steps to:
- Show that you were stopped for a DUI without reasonable cause
- Demonstrate that you were not driving while impaired
- Dispute the results of any BAC tests that you took
A felony charge may sometimes be reduced to a misdemeanor. This could reduce the penalties you face for a DUI. Your lawyer may also be able to get a charge dismissed in some cases. Finally, your lawyer could support you in court if you are accused of a fourth DUI. Take steps to get individualized support on your side right now. It’s important to treat a fourth DUI seriously. You could face a felony conviction for a fourth DUI in California.
Discuss the Charge for a Fourth DUI with a Lawyer
There could be several charges used for a fourth DUI in California. VC 23152 is often used for DUI charges. Find out more about VC 23152 by contacting a DUI lawyer. Get legal help on your side now. Just call (310) 896-2724. You can also complete our online contact form. Reach out to us to learn more.
An initial consultation to discuss the facts of your case is totally FREE. Call now to learn more!