In California, a second DUI within 10 years will carry higher consequences.
No DUI is easy to face. But in California, repeat offenders face tougher consequences for each additional DUI they are convicted of. This system is designed to curb repeat drunk driving and keep unsafe drivers off the road. But in practice, it can derail the lives of regular people who make honest mistakes.
What counts as a second offense?
If you have a previous DUI conviction within the past 10 years, your new DUI is a second offense. The 10 year period is measured from the date of arrest.
If you have been arrested for DUI in the past but not convicted, or if your previous DUI was more than 10 years ago, it does not count. Your new arrest will be treated as a first offense.
What are the penalties?
The penalties for a second DUI in California are:
- Fines and fees up to $4,000. Fines tend to skew higher for second offenses than first offenses.
- Jail sentence of 10 days to 1 year. This is up to six months longer than a first offense.
- Up to two years’ license suspension, rather than 1 year for a first offense.
- 18 months of DUI traffic school, rather than three months.
- Mandatory installation of an interlock device on all your vehicles.
Have you been charged with DUI? A good DUI lawyer can help fight your test results and potentially win your case. Let us connect you with an experienced Los Angeles DUI lawyer and get you a FREE consultation. Fill out the form to the right or call (310) 896-2724 and get your free consultation today.