If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Stanton, you should know that a conviction carries harsh penalties that can severely impact your life. Even if you manage to avoid jail time, the conviction can still require a time investment in the form of mandatory DUI education classes. The nature and extent of these classes depend on your conviction.
As the type of education program, you will have to go for a DUI in California is dependent on your conviction, having the right representation can mean the difference between several weeks and several months of classes. A skilled Stanton DUI lawyer can help you reduce or eliminate your DUI education requirements. If you’d like to learn more about what a Stanton DUI lawyer can do for you, call (310) 896-2724, or use the form on this page to schedule a free consultation with one of our knowledgeable DUI attorneys today.
The Types of Education Programs
California has several general types of DUI programs. These programs vary in length based on the severity of the DUI offense. Courses may last for as little as 12 hours over a few weeks for the most minor offenses to 30 months for repeat offenders.
Wet Reckless Program
A driver that has been convicted of reckless driving with alcohol in his or her system faces the least severe education requirements under California law. Drivers convicted of wet reckless driving are required to take 12 hours’ worth of classes, usually spread between six and 12 weeks.
A wet reckless offense is not something a driver will face as an initial charge. This charge instead exists as a plea deal that a driver may take under certain circumstances. A skilled Stanton DUI lawyer can help you negotiate a wet reckless plea deal and reduce the amount of time you need to spend on a DUI education program.
First Time Offender Programs
If you are facing your first DUI conviction in 10 years, you’ll be required to join one of two types of DUI education programs. If you were convicted of driving with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of less than 0.20%, you face a 30-hour program over the course of three months. This program entails classes on drugs and alcohol, along with counseling.
If your DUI conviction is for an infraction involving a BAC of 0.20% or more, your education program is going to be much more in-depth. The program lasts for 9 months and consists of 60 hours in counseling, as well as drug and alcohol education classes.
Second Time Offender Program
If you are facing your second DUI conviction in the past 10 years, the state of California requires that you an 18-month long DUI education program. The program includes 12 hours’ worth of classes on drugs and alcohol and group counseling for 52 hours.
Unlike the previous levels of the education requirements, the second time offender program involves more than just counseling and drug and alcohol education classes. It also requires that individuals in the program complete community reentry monitoring, which takes approximately six hours. In addition, you must also complete individual interviews with a counselor once every two weeks for the first year of the program.
Third Time Offender Program
In parts of California, the 18-month program is the longest education requirement you may face, even if you have two or more previous convictions. However, if you’re facing your third or greater DUI conviction in the last 10 years in the greater Los Angeles area, you can be required to take part in the third time offender program.
The third time offender program that you would face if convicted of a third DUI in Stanton lasts for 30 months. It involves 12 hours worth of classes on drug and alcohol, as well as group counseling for 78 hours. You will also be required to complete between 120 and 300 hours of community service. Finally, you’ll be required to have regular, individual interviews with a counselor throughout the duration of the program.
Contact a Stanton DUI Lawyer Today!
California does not like to go easy on drivers convicted of DUI offenses. The education requirements are only part of the penalties that you’ll face if convicted of a DUI in Stanton. None of these types of education programs that you’ll have to go to if you receive a DUI are free either. Depending on the length, you can be facing several hundreds to several thousands of dollars in costs for these education programs in addition to any other fines you may receive.
This is one of the many reasons to make sure that you have the right representation against your DUI charges. If you want an expert eye to look over your case, reach out to us today at(310) 896-2724. If you’d prefer, you can also schedule your free consultation right now by using the form on the right side of this page. Your risk-free consultation could save you thousands of dollars in penalties and months of education requirements, so don’t hesitate to contact us and get the help you deserve!