Getting a DUI in Stanton, California can have severe repercussions throughout your life. Many employers may not be forgiving if you’re an employee with a DUI on your record. Even fewer will keep an employee who has been charged with a DUI while driving a company car.
If you’re facing a DUI charge while driving a company car in California, you don’t have to go through the legal process alone. We can refer you to a Stanton DUI lawyer with years of experience handling DUI offenses like the one you face. You can set up your free consultation today by calling us (310) 862-0199 or by filling out the form on this webpage.
DUI Penalties in California
DUI penalties in California are based on the amount of alcohol in your system and the number of times that you’ve been convicted of a DUI offense in the past. The legal limit for alcohol is a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08% in most cases, though that will change if you’re underage or driving a commercial vehicle. DUI charges stay on your record for 10 years from the date of your arrest.
First Time Offense
If you were convicted with a DUI offense for the first time in at least ten years, you face the following penalties:
- Suspended license: You face a six-month suspension of your license, which usually overlaps with a four-month administrative suspension
- Fines: You can face upwards of $1,000 in fines for your first DUI offense, with additional administrative fees that can more than double the amount you must pay
- Probation: On the judge’s discretion, you may face between three to five years of informal probation. This includes a three-month long DUI education program in which you attended classes on the use of drugs and alcohol for a total of 30 hours. If your BAC was at least 0.20%, you face a nine-month long DUI education program over nine months with double the number of class hours
- Jail: If a judge decides against probation, you can face between two days and six months in jail for a DUI conviction
Second Offense Penalties
If you are facing a second DUI conviction in ten years, the possible penalties include:
- Suspended license: The license suspension increases to two years for a second DUI conviction, which can overlap with the additional year of administrative suspension
- Fines: You face the same fines for a second offense as you would for a first offense, including the additional court fees
- Probation: Like a first offense, you face between three and five years of probation for a second DUI conviction. However, you instead face either 18- or 30-months’ worth of DUI education. This choice is up to the judge and a leading Stanton DUI attorney can make a case for the lesser duration
- Jail: For a second DUI conviction, you face between four days and a full year in jail
Three or More Offenses
If you have two or previous DUI convictions in the past 10 years, you can be considered a repeat offender. This means you may be given the following penalties:
- License suspension: You will have your license suspended for three years, with the possibility of an overlap of the additional administrative suspension of one year
- Fines: The fines do not increase beyond the first or second conviction and still include the additional court fees
- Probation: You can be given the same three- to five-year probationary period after a third or greater DUI conviction, with Los Angeles drivers facing a 30-month DUI education program
- Jail: You may be sentenced to jail for anywhere between 120 days and a year. The sentence can be reduced to 30 days with the judge grants probation and the 30-month DUI education program
Getting a DUI While Driving a Company Car
Unless you are driving a commercial vehicle using a CDL, getting a DUI while driving a company car will result in the same legal penalties as if you were driving your personal vehicle. However, that doesn’t mean that you might not face additional difficulties from your employer.
California is an “at-will” employment state. This means that an employer may fire an employee for any reason, so long as it does not violate state or federal discrimination laws. A DUI offense, certainly one that comes while you were driving a company car, is a valid reason to fire an employee.
If you drive a company car, you are required to provide your employer with any information about any traffic convictions. A DUI conviction falls under this category and must be disclosed to your employer, even if the penalties might not otherwise impact your job. Therefore, it is essential for you to have the right representation and mount the best defense you can against a DUI charge.
Contact a Stanton DUI Lawyer Today!
If you are facing a DUI charge you received while driving a company car, it is in your best interest to act quickly. You have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request a DMV hearing to stop the automatic suspension of your license that goes into effect after 30 days. Even if your employer might be forgiving of a DUI, getting to work can become significantly harder with a suspended license.
Call (310) 862-0199, or fill in your information on the right to schedule a free appointment with a Stanton DUI lawyer. When you contact us, we can match you with a lawyer who has the right expertise to handle your case. The initial consultation is free of charge. Don’t hesitate – get in touch today!