Yes, marijuana can show up in a physical urine test. How long it stays in your urine depends on a variety of factors. This would include your frequency of use, tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) levels in the marijuana, your metabolism, the route of consumption, your sex and BMI, and your hydration level.
Typically, weed will stay in your urine for 30 days. This will also vary depending on those other factors.
Police and other authorities prefer to use a urine test when trying to determine if someone is high on cannabis or not. This is because THC retains its highest concentration for the longest amount of time in an individual’s urine. You cannot pass a marijuana test by having the police use a urine test.
How Long Does Marijuana Stay in Your System Overall?
Marijuana can be detected in your urine even a month after you consumed it, but what about the other parts of your body? Marijuana can be detected in your hair a while after it has disappeared from your urine. It can still show up in a hair test 90 days (3 months) after you first consumed it.
Evidence of weed will disappear from a saliva test 24 later. Marijuana will only stay in your blood for 12 hours. Since cannabis does not stay in your saliva and blood for very long, the police do not usually resort to using these types of tests at first.
Can You Beat a Drug Test?
Almost everyone who takes any kind of drug test for the police is hoping that they pass, even those who know they are under the influence. Some individuals will go as far as purposely trying to beat the tests with rather creative ideas.
It is important to know that it is next to impossible to beat a drug test. However, you can take steps to beat a marijuana crime-related charge with the help of a Los Angeles criminal defense attorney.
People have tried diluting their urine samples with other chemicals, like bleach or soap, so that the evidence of marijuana does not show up. This will not work because authorities have specimen validity tests to make sure that the urine is not tampered with in any way.
People have also tried using a detoxification kit after they have consumed cannabis but before they drive their car. These detoxification kits are supposed to make you sober up faster but there is no valid research to support those claims.
Can You Get in Trouble for Marijuana Use Over a Month Ago?
Once you have consumed marijuana, it can stay in your system for up to three months. Although, you will not be experiencing the effects of being high. Those short-term effects include altered vision, impaired body movement, impaired memory/recall, altered perception of time, difficulty problem-solving, and hallucinations (with higher doses).
Getting pulled over by a police officer a month or three months after you used cannabis could spell legal trouble for you. This is due to the fact that the police can issue you a urine and hair test where weed can still show up in your system.
In some states, it is outright illegal to use and possess marijuana. Therefore, a urine and hair test can be evidence of committing a crime.
California allows its citizens to use marijuana but not when operating a vehicle. Also, having cannabis located in your car can be subject to a DUI charge. This is true even if you are not high on marijuana while driving, so the best way to avoid any kind of DUI charge in the golden state is to not be high on weed when driving and not have any weed in your car while driving.
What Are California’s Marijuana Laws?
The state of California allows for both medicinal and recreational marijuana. You must be 21 years or older in order to use and possess cannabis. There is no legal limit to how much medicinal marijuana you are allowed to use and possess, as long as it is the prescribed amount from your doctor.
There is a legal limit to how much recreational cannabis you can use and possess. It is up to 28.5g and up to 6 plants. A misdemeanor charge would be possessing more than 28.5g of weed on your person.
The only felony charge regarding marijuana would be driving under the influence (DUI) of marijuana.
What Are the Penalties for Marijuana Crimes in California?
California has looser laws pertaining to marijuana use and possession in comparison to other US states. In spite of that, it does not mean you will not face serious penalties for breaking those laws.
The consequences of marijuana DUI charges are especially serious. These punishments include:
- 1st DUI – Up to 6 months in jail, 9 months of a suspended license, and a $1000 fine
- 2nd DUI – Up to 1 year in jail, 1 year of a suspended license, and a $1000 fine
- 3rd DUI – Up to 1 year in jail, 3 years of a revoked license, and a $1000 fine
- Felony DUI with injury – Up to 16 years in state prison, 5 years of a revoked license, and a $5000 fine plus restitution to injured parties
These are all severe penalties that nobody wants to go through. This is especially true if you know that you are innocent of the marijuana DUI charges against you.
The best way to not have to suffer any of these harsh punishments would be to not consume cannabis and get behind the wheel. However, hire a Los Angeles DUI attorney if you believe that you are either not guilty or have your constitutional rights abridged.
Why Hire a Criminal Defense Lawyer?
Even though you are being held criminally liable for a drug charge, and you may feel like there is no hope left for you, it is still crucial that you hire a Los Angeles criminal defense attorney. A lawyer can help ensure that your legal rights are being upheld by both the prosecution and the judge. A criminal defense lawyer can also help with proving your innocence or minimizing the penalties you are facing.