One of the most popular side hustles, and even full-time jobs for many, is driving for Lyft. The rideshare service operates nationwide and has allowed many people to earn a second income in their spare time. However, the company has strict rules when it comes to the people they allow to drive for them.
This might include those who have a DUI conviction on their record. The criminal defense attorney at Los Angeles DUI Attorney takes a deeper look at this question.
Does Lyft Run a Background Check on Its Drivers?
Yes, Lyft does perform a background check on all of the people who apply to be drivers with the company. This includes pulling your driving record.
Lyft informs applicants that they will look back at least seven years and sometimes more than 10 years. Checks can include pulling data from local, county, and state databases to determine if you are eligible to be a driver for the company.
What Documents/Information Are Required to Drive for Lyft?
In order to drive for Lyft, you must submit the following information:
- Criminal background check
- Driver’s license check
- Proof of automotive insurance
- Copies of your license plate number
In order to drive for Lyft, you must have at least one year of driving experience according to California law.
What Are Lyft’s Driving Requirements?
According to Lyft, its drivers must meet the following requirements:
- Three or fewer minor traffic violations in the past three years
- No major traffic violations in the last three years
- No DUI convictions or drug-related traffic violations in the last seven years
- No felony convictions related to driving in the past seven years
Can I Drive for Lyft with a DUI?
The short answer is no; you cannot drive for Lyft if you have a DUI on your record in the past seven years. This does not prevent you from driving for the company completely. However, there is a caveat in California.
Because the state keeps DUI convictions on record for 10 years, you will not be permitted to drive for Lyft for 10 years if you have a DUI conviction. You will just need to wait until the DUI conviction has been in the past by 10 years in order to be approved as a Lyft driver.
It is also important to note that once the 10 years have passed, it does not automatically mean you will be able to drive for Lyft. The reason for this is that some DUIs can be charged as felonies. If you are charged with felony DUI and convicted, you will never be able to drive for Lyft.
Why Do I Need a Criminal Defense Lawyer?
If you are charged with DUI in California, you should contact a criminal defense lawyer immediately. Waiting until your court appearance will only make it more difficult to challenge the charges against you. A criminal defense lawyer can help with the following:
- Ensure that the traffic stop was legal
- Ensure that the police officer had probable cause and did not abuse their power
- Ensure that the chain of command was followed when it comes to your blood test
- Challenge the validity of the breathalyzer results (determine if the device was properly calibrated)
- Challenge the validity of the arrest overall
If a criminal defense lawyer is able to have the charges reduced or dropped, you will not have a DUI conviction on your record. If this is the case you will be able to drive for Lyft because your record will not have this blemish on it.
How Do I Protect My Rights After a DUI Traffic Stop?
The best thing you can do when stopped for suspicion of DUI in California is to comply with the requests and instructions from the police officer, even if you do not agree with the traffic stop. Being respectful, complying, and answering questions respectfully can go a long way toward improving your chances of avoiding a charge, especially if you are under the legal limit.
You should then contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible to discuss the case. You want to give the lawyer enough time to build a defense to the charges so they are not scrambling to find evidence, speak to witnesses, or further investigate the traffic stop that led to your arrest.
What Are My Chances of Beating a DUI Charge?
Every DUI case is different, which is why it is in your best interest to speak to an experienced DUI attorney in California after being arrested for suspicion of DUI. The chances of beating the DUI charge vary based on the following circumstances:
- How you handled yourself during the interaction with the police
- Your actual blood alcohol content (BAC)
- If the arrest came after you caused an accident
- If there was an accident, the seriousness of the injuries caused to someone else
- The amount of property damage caused if the arrest resulted from a DUI crash
When Should I Call a Criminal Defense Attorney?
You should call a criminal defense attorney immediately after being arrested for suspicion of DUI. This would be the one phone call you are permitted once you have been booked into the local jail. Do not call anyone else.
You want to use your time wisely by speaking to an attorney as soon as possible. The sooner you have an attorney secured, the sooner they can begin working on building a defense for your case.
Charged with DUI? Call a Criminal Defense Attorney
If you were charged with DUI in Los Angeles and want to still drive for Lyft, you need to build a defense to the charges. Speak with an experienced Los Angeles DUI attorney about your situation. Call our office, or submit our contact form to schedule a consultation today.
You deserve to have your rights protected when facing a DUI charge in California so you can continue to live your life while the case plays out in court.