The DUI process in California is understandably complex. From the moment of your arrest, you should look to educate yourself in what you could possibly be facing. There are three important things that anyone facing a DUI charge in California should know. The first is the cost of a DUI. A first-time DUI in California can cost up to $15,000, which includes not only the fines but also the court fees and other costs associated with a DUI. The second is that you have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request a DMV hearing or your license will be automatically suspended. Your license can be suspended even if you are not convicted! The third thing is that even a first-offense DUI can carry jail time of three days to six months.
KTLA reports on a man with several prior DUI arrests facing more charges after an alleged DUI accident that killed one person and left two more hospitalized.
29-year-old Jesus Segura Herrera is suspected of being intoxicated in a crash that occurred at 2:29 a.m. on December 2nd. The crash happened at Grand and McFadden Avenues in Santa Ana.
Herrera was driving an Acura TL north along Grand Avenue when he plowed into the rear of a Scion.
Paramedics treated both Herrera and the driver of the Scion before they were taken to a hospital for treatment. A front seat passenger in the Scion was also taken to the hospital. A second passenger in the rear seat of the Scion was trapped and pronounced dead at the scene.
Investigators determined that they believed Herrera was under the influence of alcohol at the time of the crash.
According to police records, Herrera has prior DUI arrests dating back to 2008.