DUI manslaughter charges can be brought against a driver who has been involved in a crash where someone has been killed. In California, the charge can be either vehicular manslaughter or gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated. Vehicular manslaughter can be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor. In contrast, gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated is a felony.
In order for a driver to be charged with gross vehicular manslaughter, a prosecutor must prove that a driver was intoxicated, that they caused an accident that claimed a life, and that the driver broke another California law while acting with gross negligence. If convicted, the penalty for gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated is a 4, 6, or 10-year sentence in state prison.
CBS Local San Francisco reports that a driver has been arrested for a DUI accident where two people were killed.
27-year-old Camille Veraanne Kimball was arrested by the California Highway Patrol on Sunday. She is facing charges of felony DUI and vehicular manslaughter.
A CHP investigation alleges that Kimball was driving a 2020 Ford Fusion southbound on Interstate Highway 680 near El Pintado Road in Danville. She was traveling in the northbound lanes when she struck another vehicle head-on.
Two people were pronounced dead on the scene in the accident. Details about their identity were not released, and they were only identified as a 46-year-old female and a 25-year-old male.
Kimball was injured in the crash and was taken to a local hospital.