A first arrest can be stressful, frightening, and upsetting. If that first arrest is a first-time DUI, it can be even doubly so. For a first-time DUI in California, a person could be looking at a number of penalties – including some jail time, fines, the possibility of DUI school, and the suspension of their driver’s license. Expect a jail sentence of anywhere from 3 days to 6 months, though this can sometimes be waved as a part of probation. A person convicted of DUI can also be expected to attend at least 3 months of DUI school and probation lasting at least 3-5 years. These are just some of the penalties, and fines can reach into the thousands of dollars.
Surfer Today reports on legendary surfer Bruce Irons’ arrest for DUI in California.
Bruce Irons was detained and arrested by Newport Beach Police at 9:23 a.m. on Thanksgiving Day, November 22, 2018.
Newport Beach Police arrested Irons on suspicion of DUI drugs on the East Coast Highway. Corona del Mar. Police also reported that Irons was in possession of a controlled substance without a prescription.
Irons was also driving without a valid driver’s license. His bail was set at $2,500.
Bruce Irons was born in Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii. He is a “regular footer” surfer who has won many notable titles, including the 2001 Billabong Pipeline Masters, the 2004 Quicksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau, and the 2008 Rip Curl Pro Search Uluwatu.
Irons is considered to be one of the best surfers in the world and many regard him as the best Pipeline surfer of all time.
In a documentary about his brother, “Andy Irons: Kissed by God,” Bruce opened up about his past relationship with drugs and alcohol and substance abuse.