The consequences of a DUI in California can end up being much more than one might expect, both financially and in other costs. A first time DUI can cost up to $15,649. This amount includes the fines, the court fees, and other expenses that can be forced on a DUI offender. Most people are not aware that a person who is accused of DUI needs to be aware of is that they have 10 days to request a DMV hearing or their license will be suspended. Others assume that first time DUI offenses will be forgiven, but even a first time DUI in California can carry jail time. There’s a minimum of a 3-day sentence and up to 6 months in a misdemeanor first-time DUI case.
The SF Gate reports that a man has been arrested on suspicion of DUI following a crash in unincorporated Sonoma County.
37-year-old Heriberto Ninorios was arrested on suspicion of DUI following a single-vehicle crash on Mark West Springs Road.
Ninorios was driving a Nissan Pathfinder eastbound on Mark West Springs Road east of Fox Hunt Lane on Sunday at around 8:10 p.m.
According to the California Highway Patrol, the Nissan veered off-road and rolled. The vehicle came to a stop 20-30 feet off of the road. Ninorios was trapped inside the vehicle. In the crash, the vehicle sheared a PG&E pole, downing power lines.
Sonoma County Fire District responded to the crash and was able to extricate Ninorios. He was taken to Santa Rosa Memorial Hospital with major injuries where he was placed under arrest.