California does not go easy on people who are charged with driving under the influence. There are a few things that everyone should know about a DUI charge, even a first time DUI. The first is the cost. A DUI conviction can cost as much as $15,649, including court fees and other expenses. If the accused doesn’t take action first, the DMV will automatically suspend their license after 10 days. When it comes to jail time, a first-time offender can spend up to six months in jail. There is a minimum of three days of jail time. Second and subsequent offenses and accidents that involve injuries or death can result in even harsher penalties.
The Merced Sun-Star reports a San Jose man was arrested after a suspected DUI crash that resulted in a rollover. California Highway Patrol officers responded at about 11:30 p.m. on Saturday to a collision on Highway 152. The crash happened east of Island Road.
44-year-old Johnny Caudillo was driving a 2016 Chevrolet Malibu west. Caudillo was allegedly under the influence and allowed his vehicle to veer across the median and the eastbound lanes. The vehicle eventually overturned on the shoulder of the roadway.
A 43-year-old female passenger who was in the vehicle was not wearing a seatbelt. She was flown to Doctors Medical Center suffering from lower-body injuries.
Caudillo was given a field sobriety test and then arrested him on suspicion of felony DUI causing bodily injury. Caudillo was taken to a hospital to be medically cleared before he was taken to Merced County Jail.