Do you know the penalties for a DUI in California? Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in California will cost you up to $1,800. Your driver’s license will be restricted for 90 days, allowing you to drive from home to work and at work if required. The restricted status doesn’t even begin until after the mandatory 30-day suspension of your license. You will also have to attend a $500 90-day alcohol treatment program, which can be raised up to a nine-month program if your BAC is over .20. Completing the alcohol treatment program is required to get your driver’s license back. Driving on a suspended license is against the law in California. CBS Local Sacramento reports on a DUI accident that claimed four lives and involved a man with a previous DUI.
47-year-old Fred Lowe has been arrested following his involvement in a crash that killed four people and injured six others.
The first hit-and-run crash happened just after 8 p.m. on Saturday night. Lowe was driving a blue Mercedes east on I-80 when it collided with a white Nissan. The accident forced the Nissan to spin out of control and over the center divider.
Daryl Horn and his 14-year-old son Joe were killed in the crash. Horn’s older son Jared was also in the vehicle and was the only one to survive.
Lowe did not stop but instead continued to the next exit, where he hit a parked car. He began walking towards a shopping center. Deputies were able to catch Lowe later and arrest him.
Lowe’s driver’s license had been suspended due to a previous drunk driving arrest.
He is now charged with four counts of vehicular manslaughter, DUI, felony hit and run, and driving on a suspended license with a DUI violation. He is being held at the Contra Costa County Jail. His bond is $1.1 million dollars.
Have you been charged with DUI? Let the experienced attorneys at our law offices take care of your defense. We specialize in defending DUI charges. Call today.