Any DUI is a serious charge in California. The state’s legal system does not fool around when it comes to a DUI, particularly if there are minors in the vehicle. For the purposes of the law, California considers a minor to be a child under the age of 14. If there is a child in the vehicle when a person commits a DUI, there are two ways that the charges can go. The first way is that a DUI is charged with the enhancement of having a minor in the vehicle. This is not a separate charge, but rather a circumstance under which the sentence received for the DUI charge can be harsher. The second way it can be charged is with a second charge of either child endangerment or even child abuse can be charged.
The Press-Telegram reports that a driver who hit a man in a wheelchair and then fled will serve one year in prison.
37-year-old Jesus Jorge Arias was sentenced on Tuesday to one year in county jail and five years of probation. In addition, Arias was ordered to complete a six-month DUI class and 52 weeks of child abuse counseling. He will also have to complete a morgue program.
The sentencing came immediately after pleading no contest to one felony count of hit-and-run resulting in death and child abuse under conditions likely to cause great bodily injury or death. He also pled no contest to a misdemeanor count of driving with a .08% or greater blood-alcohol content.
The charges stem from an accident that occurred on March 28, 2019. Arias struck 29-year-old Kyle Dean McNeley near the corner of Bellflower Boulevard and Harvey Way. Arias fled the scene but was stopped by good Samaritans. They returned him to the scene.
At the time of the accident, Arias’ son and daughter, who were aged 9 and 7, were in the car.
Arias was returned to jail after his plea of no contest.