Driver With A DUI History Kills Passenger In A DUI Crash

In California, the charge of DUI causing injury can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor, but the penalties for both are stringent. DUI causing injury charges depend greatly upon the driver’s criminal history and the circumstances of the accident. The misdemeanor charge can result in a fine of up to $5000. The court may sentence the driver to an alcohol program for anywhere between 3 to 30 months, 5 days to 1 year in county jail, and suspend the driver’s license for 1 to 3 years. The felony charge carries stiffer penalties, including a prison sentence lasting 2 to 4 years.

The Sacramento Bee reports that an Auburn, California man has been charged with multiple felonies including murder, manslaughter, and DUI causing injury.

Last Monday, 29-year-old Jerome Levon Love was charged in Placer County with second-degree murder, gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated, reckless driving with great bodily injury, DUI causing injury, conspiracy to obstruct justice, and other charges.

The charges stem from deadly November 2, 2019 crash that killed Meghan Andrews.

According to the California Highway Patrol, Love was in a Mercedes SUV with 29-year-old Micaela Laine Love and Andrews when the SUV veered off the road. The SUV then crashed into a tree, killing Andrews.

Initial reports indicate that Micaela was driving the SUV. However, conflicting information was given to emergency responders about who was driving the vehicle at the time of the crash. Both were arrested.

Micaela Love is facing felony charges of conspiracy to obstruct justice and conspiracy to commit a crime. Jerome Love has a previous DUI offense that occurred within the previous ten years.

Both were in custody and were being held without bail.

Related Frequently Asked Questions