Commercial Driver Charged With DUI After Killing One and Injuring Four

While California law is strict for all drivers, they are stricter on those who have a commercial driver’s license. CDL drivers are treated differently under California law. The two biggest differences involve the CDL itself. If a driver has a CDL, they have a lower blood-alcohol threshold for DUI at 0.04% as opposed to 0.08% for most other drivers. This blood-alcohol level law applies whether the driver is behind the wheel of a commercial vehicle or a regular vehicle. If convicted of a DUI, the person’s CDL will be suspended for a full year. Unlike being able to apply for a restricted driver’s license, allowing a person to go to and from work, there is no restricted CDL. A second conviction will cause the person to lose their CDL for life.

The Mercury News reports that a big rig truck driver has been arrested on a DUI charge after a fatal accident.

The crash happened on Friday morning on State Route 4 near Discovery Bay.

The driver of the large truck, who was not named, was traveling westbound on State Route 4 near Tracy Boulevard. The truck crossed the double yellow line just before 8:00 A.M. and hit a 2010 Dodge Journey head-on.

The 35-year-old male driver of the Dodge was pronounced dead on-scene. An 11-year-old passenger was flown to a hospital for treatment.

After hitting the Dodge, the big rig sideswiped a 2015 Chrysler Town and Country. The driver of the Chrysler along with three juvenile passengers were taken to a local hospital with minor injuries.

The truck driver suffered from moderate injuries and was treated at a hospital before being arrested and taken to San Joaquin County Jail.

Related Frequently Asked Questions