10 Years in Prison for First DUI

Even if it is your very first DUI, if a person is injured or killed as a result, you could be looking at serious jail time. What would have been a misdemeanor offense had there not been injuries or death becomes a felony. Someone convicted of a DUI resulting in injury or death faces a minimum of one year and up to five years. The Mohave Daily News reports on a young man pleading guilty to such charges who was sentenced to ten years in prison.

In a crash that occurred in the early morning hours of January 15, Joshua Bret Meyer’s car left the roadway on Bullhead Parkway between Camino Real Boulevard and Adobe Road. The single-vehicle crash ejected the two back seat passengers, Wyatt Graham Brown and Isaac Gabrial Maestas died at the scene. Meyer, now 28, and a front seat passenger were flown to a local hospital.

At the hospital, Meyer’s blood-alcohol level was measured at 0.241 percent and later by the Arizona Department of Public Safety lab at 0.219 percent. The legal limit is 0.08 percent.

Meyers pleaded guilty four weeks ago to two counts of manslaughter and one count of misdemeanor driving under the influence. Charges of aggravated assault and other charges were dropped.

On Friday, during an emotional sentencing where family members of the victim as well as Meyer’s spoke before a judge. Brown’s grandmother described him as involved in the community and an organ donor.  

Meyer was sentenced to ten years in prison.

In addition to the charges for which he was sentenced, Meyer’s faces separate charges of felony domestic violence and DUI in California.

Have you been charged with a DUI? You will need an attorney to represent your side in court. All of our attorneys are experienced in DUI defense. Call today.

Related Frequently Asked Questions